Home News Congressman Carter Calls for Expanded Pell Grant Access

Congressman Carter Calls for Expanded Pell Grant Access


This will give all students the ability to choose the school that best fits their needs

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Troy A. Carter, Sr. (D-La.) led fifteen of his colleagues in sending a letter to Leader Hakeem Jeffries, Speaker Kevin McCarthy, and House Committee on Education and Workforce leadership calling for the expansion of access to the federal Pell Grant program for students enrolled in short-term credential programs. Specifically, the members asked that funding for the new short-term Pell Grant program created in H.R. 793, the Jumpstart Our Business by Supporting Students (JOBS) Act be available to students at all high-quality institutions.

“Not all students want to or can enroll in traditional higher education programs, and Congress should support changes to the Higher Education Act that provide students an opportunity to earn short-term credentials that will help them succeed in the workforce,” the Members wrote. “Any expansion of Pell Grant eligibility should include numerous safeguards to ensure that low- performing programs are excluded. Such safeguards could include linking program eligibility to student outcomes or requiring states and employers to play a role in the vetting process. With these safeguards in place, preventing students at all proprietary institutions from participating in short-term Pell will limit valuable opportunities for low-income and minority students. We believe Congress should support access to all high-quality programs, including those offered at proprietary institutions, which currently serve nearly one million students in the United States.”

Additional signers of the letter include Reps. Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (D-GA), Veronica Escobar (D-TX), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), Jim Costa (D-CA), Jasmine Crockett (D-TX), Darren Soto (D-FL), Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick (D-FL), Jared Golden (D-ME), Donald Norcross (D-NJ), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Brittany Pettersen (D-CO), Susan Wild (D-PA), Jared Moskowitz (D-FL), and Eric Swalwell (D-CA).

Read the full letter here.



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *